Merging fonts and applique designs with Bes Lettering Software

March 6, 2011 at 3:27 am 18 comments

Hi, first of all I would like to say that I am a member of various embroidery groups on yahoo and facebook. I also mongram and embroider for myself, friends, my son and various customers. I see that alot of people on the group that I belong to on facebook have this software. I am going to attempt to show a demo tutorial with screenshots on how to use Bes lettering software.

There are so many types of embroidery software out on the market today. There is basic editing and lettering software and then you have full blown digitizing software. There are also some that are free and most that you will have to pay for. This tutorial today will be about the Bes lettering software. Bes lettering is a software that is made by Brother.  I love this program. With this program, you can do so much with it. The program has over 150 fonts that is built into the program, plus you can also use any true type fonts that are built into your computer or even free fonts that you download. You can also import or bring in purchased fonts and designs into the program as well.

The first thing that you will want to do is to open the program up on the computer. The first picture included of this post will show you how the screen look after the program is open.

One of the first things that you will want to do is get familiar with the keys of the software.  Next, you can click on the “B” that is located in the top left hand corner. This is called the pacesetter button. This is one of the ways to access some of the button tools built in the software. When you open the menu, you will also see a list of recent files that were saved. One unique feature that is built into this program is  that you can save your files in two different file types. The first one is called the “brf” format that can only be seen in Bes lettering. The “brf” file is called a working file. With this file you can make adjustments to it. The second file will be in the file type that a person’s embroidery machine accepts and in this case it will be in the pes format since my machine is a  Babylock.

When starting a new project you will first need to choose “New” or “new/recipe” button. Choosing the “new/recipe” button will show a popup box and then you can choose from a new menu box from a specified group of various fabrics. Choosing a recipes for a specific fabric the software brings in the correct underlay and density to the designs and fonts.

Once the software is open, you will see three tabs at the top located right underneath pacesetter button. The tabs are “home”,”arrange”, and “appearance”. In the home tab, you will see a variety of keys. In bes you have 5 lettering paths.These are normal,path,vertical,circle, and monogram. For this tutorial, we will click on “normal” path.

Once choosing the path, click anywhere on the design space on the screen. Next, the properties box will appear. Type in the name . Then click on merge. Select the applique design either from your hard drive or usb stick(thumb drive).When saving the design click “save as” and save the new combined design either to your hard drive, usb stick or if you have the capability send the design directly to your machine.

Hope this helps. My next tutorial will be on using true type fonts in the Bes software.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hello world! How to use true type fonts in Bes lettering

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lois  |  August 27, 2012 at 12:29 am

    I just bought BES Lettering Software. I think I am going to love it but is there a way to “print out” a list of the Fonts so I can actually see what they look like instead of clicking on each one to see? Thanks for any ideas or help.

    Reply
  • 2. katiechristian  |  August 27, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Hi Lois. Yes you can print out a listing of the fonts especially if you just purchased bes lettering 2. To print out this listing go to the brother website and look for bes 2 and there is a pdf file that you can printout but as a heads up this printout consists of 80 pages or more but its a very good printout because it includes each letter for all of the new fonts that is in the new version of the software. There is also a printout of the sister software called bes monogramming suite as well. Also just to let you know if you are on facebook I also started a bes anonymous group and it has a wealth of tips and techniques on the board as well.

    Reply
  • 3. maria  |  January 19, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Hi i have saved some lettering onto my usb stick but it saves as brf file, how do i change it to pes for my brother innovis machine? many thanks!!

    Reply
    • 4. katiechristian  |  March 8, 2013 at 2:03 am

      Hi Maria. The brf files can only be seen in the bes software since its the native file format for bes lettering. To get the files to show up in your machine you will have to save the files as pes format and usually I save it as pes 8 or higher if you have either bes lettering or bes lettering 2( the highest format is version 9)

      Reply
  • 5. Janet  |  January 23, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    I am trying to find the BES group on facebook, but it isnt coming up. I would love to be a part of a group like that. I have been working in my BES software for about a year now, but would love to know what I am missing! Could you please tell me exactly how you have the group named? Thank you in advance!

    Reply
    • 6. katiechristian  |  March 8, 2013 at 2:09 am

      Hi Janet. The bes group on facebook is called bes anonymous but because of its setting you would have to friend request me on facebook.If you send me email at kc9263@hotmail.com and I can fill you in on how to become a member of the group. Thanks

      Reply
  • 7. maria johnson  |  March 7, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    How do I merge a purchased font with bes lettering?

    Reply
    • 8. katiechristian  |  March 8, 2013 at 2:12 am

      Hi Maria. To merge purchased fonts in bes lettering there are several ways of doing this but the best way to merge is to use your “merge” key instead of insert. Since I tend to use this feature alot I also include this on my shortcut bar that you can customise at the top of your main screen. Hope this helps.

      Reply
  • 9. Anne  |  September 7, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    I’m so glad I found this site. I was given the BES Monogramming Suite and didn’t understand a thing. Of course I also didn’t read the book. Dumb move I know. But you explain things so much better than the book. Now if you could only thread my new serger for me.

    Reply
    • 10. katiechristian  |  September 9, 2013 at 7:36 pm

      Hi Anne. I am happy that I was able to help you with some of the tutorials that I have done with bes software. What type of serger do you have. I have a older babylock serger as well. I want to get a new serger that has the coverstitch feature. As of right now I don’t have bes monogramming suite but there are a few tutorials on the brother website that might help you along the way. Did you know that there is a pdf printout of the fonts included with bes monogramming that is very handy to have on hand and it also includes the extra designs and frames that are also included in your software that you can use for reference. Here is the link that shows the pdf file link.http://www.brother-usa.com/support/ModelInfo.aspx?R3ModelID=SAMON#.Ui4i8E0o7IU

      Reply
      • 11. Anne  |  September 10, 2013 at 12:27 am

        Thanks so much for the link. I managed to enlarge an M and transferred it to my flash drive and then to my Brother embroidery machine. It turned out well. But I did notice that the thread wasn’t as dense or didn’t seem to cover that particular font as well as a regular letter from the machine itself or even from the Embroidery Library which I love. I need to practice a lot more and take the class the Sew and Vac store near me offers.
        My serger is a Brother 1034D. It was inexpensive and received very good reviews. It does a lot of things. But the directions for threading are a little iffy. Sometimes they assume you really know what you’re doing.

  • 12. Janet  |  September 9, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    I want to do a double appliqué varsity font. When I go to apply my letters I have no problem arranging them. But I want them in a 6×10 inch hoop. When it asks save as I put the name then the drop dwn. Asks for brother baby lock etc. v5v6v8vp pes. I have tried saving it it will save on my USB stick but machine won’t recognize it. What am I doing wrong please. I have a innovis1250 d.

    Reply
    • 13. katiechristian  |  September 9, 2013 at 7:26 pm

      Hi Janet. Did you check your hoop settings to make sure that the design will fit into this area this might be why the computer is not reconizing the design and letting you save as in the pes format. You should be able to save in the highest version available on your software (ver 8 or 9 depending on your bes lettering software. If you have bes lettering 2 then your highest version of pes will be version 9. There is a update for bes lettering 2 that also contains some updates if this is the version that you might have.

      Reply
  • 14. Erica kelley  |  October 9, 2013 at 1:06 am

    I can’t import a font that I downloaded from etsy. Please help. I have the BES pacesetter software program. Thanks.

    Reply
    • 15. katiechristian  |  December 6, 2013 at 11:51 pm

      Hi Erica. To merge or import a font from an outside source other than the ones that were built into the program you will first have to extract the files after you have downloaded the font and then click on merge and then the font should show up in your design workspace. In bes lettering you can open a file that is not extracted but its easier when they are.

      Reply
  • 16. Jess  |  December 6, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    You seem to really know what you’re talking about so I have a question. I am brand new to embroidery and know very little but am excited to get started and to learn. A friend told me about BES and so I ordered the BES embroidery lettering software 2 and then she tells me that she actually uses the monogramming suite. So now I’m worried I have the wrong thing. Will this work for all my embroidery needs or is this an add on to the monogramming suite software? I haven’t taken it out of the package yet so I can return it if I need to.

    Reply
    • 17. katiechristian  |  December 6, 2013 at 11:55 pm

      Hi Jess. Bes lettering is separate from bes monogramming and it contains a lot more fonts than bes monogramming suite. The suite is a sister program to bes lettering 2 and it does have some exclusive fonts that are not found in bes lettering but if I had to choose I would stick with the one that you have because it is a very good basic lettering and editing software for beginners and intermediates. I have a bes anonymous group on facebook as well but its on a secret platform but if you friend request me (Casey Wicker) on facebook I would be more than welcome to add you to the group and make sure to include a message stating about the group on facebook if you want to join.

      Reply
      • 18. Jess  |  December 7, 2013 at 12:34 am

        Thank you so much. I was scared what I had wouldn’t work on its own. Also I’d love to join that group. Like I said I am literally just getting started and have so much to learn and that sounds like a great place to start!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Etsy

Categories

Archives

Initials, Inc.

Flickr Photos


